of Cooking misadventure

I was reading my FB feed abeh read that the Confinement Food prepared by Dapur Ummi is filling up fast. November and December dah fully booked! What?! So fast? Ramai orang ker give birth? So, I already kanchiong spider ah.

My delivery is mid or end of January. Then, terfikir. Should I order for January or February? I enquired and she replied that they will start the delivery as and when is required. Means, you will inform them your EDD and update them when you are ready for the food to be delivered. Maybe tell them 2-3 days in advance when you just gave birth. By the time you discharge from hospital, can start the delivery.

So, I will placing my deposit today to book a slot for myself. Scary! Suddenly, feel so real. *Gulp!* Baru yesterday the husband said dier tak sabar nak jumper our Babylove. He said maseh ader 4 months before we get to see Babylove. In sha Allah. For me, excited but yet nervous. Still have loads of things to do and once January comes, our lives will totally change!

Oh! You know, I always stretched my legs and body the moment I woke up. Abeh this morning, I was stretching my legs and I got cramp on my left calf! Ouchness okay! Dari ngantok teros wide awake! I massaged2 it a bit and the husband slowly helped to stretch it.

Nowadays, I do feel some sharp pain or soreness at my soles after a long day. You know, after you sit or lie down then bangun, you will feel that sharpness at your soles as though you have been walking a lot, wearing a poor supported pair of shoes. But, my shoes okay what. Just the increased weight gain, I guess.

So, I guess now everytime sebelom tido kene buat stretching dulu with my long colourful socks. Hahahhahahaha! Nak tdo ker nak main bola? Hahhahahahahha!! *Alert: Sexiness level is negative!*  HAHAHAHAHA!!

Anyway, yesterday I attempted to cook lauk singgang for the first time. The ingredients macam senang ah. So, my confidence level was really  really high.

Then halfway, fikir asal mcm doesn’t look promising. I think the husband saw my face abeh dah pre-empt me, ‘’Yang, kla tk menjadik, you jangan nangis eh. Ni kan learning process. Practice makes perfect’’. Hahahahahahha! I don’t know whether I should feel sad at his lack of confidence for my cooking skills or feel touched that he don’t mind that the lauk will fail and cares for my feelings instead. Hahahhaha!

Yes, there were several incidents I tried to cook abeh tak menjadik. Frustrated and tired, I will just switch off the fire, go to the bedroom and cry. The husband will clean up the mess and buy some food for us. I will feel so shitty for failing to cook a decent meal for him. Hahahaha! Emo seh!

And, it’s true. The lauk really tak sedap ah. I looked through the recipe and realised luper nak masokkan air asam. -__-. Such a noobie mistake.

Tapi, dah masokkan still taste so bland or raw. Called up my sis. Suruh masokkan garam. The taste still off. At this point, dah mcm bingit giler ah. So, I off the api and eat first. Can’t continue if I’m pissed and hungry. Lepas makan, tried putting in some sugar and garam and more air asam and blend more bawang putih. I just can’t pinpoint what the lauk lacks! Like, I can taste the garam and chilli distinctly but the rest of the taste mcm really fade or weak at the background. Get it? Is it because I didn’t tumis properly or add the water too early? I don’t know whether it is the ingredients or the cara masak salah.

I was so hampa already. I just feel like leaving everything and collapsed in my bed. Tapi, matured me stayed on. But, just me slouching at the dining table with my miserable face. The husband took over and slowly add air asam bit by bit. Eventually, the taste gets better. Not as nice as how my mom or dad cooks but good enough for us lah. The lauk from ½ jadik ¾ after all the adding of air asam and other stuff.

Put the kacang panjang in and it gets better. So, okaylah. Tonight, I’m not cooking. Grrrr!!!! But, I shall not give up. Must persevere to learn how to cook. Hmpft!!!

 

2 thoughts on “of Cooking misadventure

  1. Nevermind, practice makes perfect! Last time i 1st masak lauk singgang pun fail. I kept thinking “lauk singgang macam ni punya senang pun aku boleh fail” But trust me, once you get the hang of things, u’ll really pandai main masak campak2..

    My husband now even compare food outside with mine! Like the other time makan Mee bandung, he said “Mee bandung dia lain tak macam u punya” Achievement unlocked! Lol

    It really takes practice! I always fail at masak any lauk lemak. Like Lemak cili padi.. or sayur lemak. Whatever that requires santan, always fail! I finally passed masak lodeh time this year Raya! lol

Leave a comment